checkout_entry(): clarify the use of topath[] parameter
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 23 Oct 2013 17:52:42 +0000 (10:52 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 24 Oct 2013 21:59:39 +0000 (14:59 -0700)
commitaf2a651d2ecb3967244c9a44a5813a0cf9977df5
treeb2516b618c3bb919a571eded2da72198e1370ed0
parentfd356f6aa8bb75ebef56fbc61caf7e02517fa6d3
checkout_entry(): clarify the use of topath[] parameter

The said function has this signature:

extern int checkout_entry(struct cache_entry *ce,
  const struct checkout *state,
  char *topath);

At first glance, it might appear that the caller of checkout_entry()
can specify to which path the contents are written out by the last
parameter, and it is tempting to add "const" in front of its type.

In reality, however, topath[] is to point at a buffer to store the
temporary path generated by the callchain originating from this
function, and the temporary path is always short, much shorter than
the buffer prepared by its only caller in builtin/checkout-index.c.

Document the code a bit to clarify so that future callers know how
to use the function better.

Noticed-by: Nguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/checkout-index.c
cache.h
entry.c