rerere: avoid buffer overrun
authorElijah Newren <newren@gmail.com>
Tue, 11 Sep 2018 18:55:46 +0000 (11:55 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 11 Sep 2018 20:43:23 +0000 (13:43 -0700)
commitad2bf0d9b43433583e88128c278ce31c7ca4e431
treec1fee749f5008da8717513b3f206a82251bb84f9
parent38c93c4d9d11b881697229d15420fc5c1367d7a9
rerere: avoid buffer overrun

check_one_conflict() compares `i` to `active_nr` in two places to avoid
buffer overruns, but left out an important third location.

The code did used to have a check here comparing i to active_nr, back
before commit fb70a06da2f1 ("rerere: fix an off-by-one non-bug",
2015-06-28), however the code at the time used an 'if' rather than a
'while' meaning back then that this loop could not have read past the
end of the array, making the check unnecessary and it was removed.
Unfortunately, in commit 5eda906b2873 ("rerere: handle conflicts with
multiple stage #1 entries", 2015-07-24), the 'if' was changed to a
'while' and the check comparing i and active_nr was not re-instated,
leading to this problem.

Signed-off-by: Elijah Newren <newren@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
rerere.c
t/t4200-rerere.sh