verify_packfile: check pack validity before accessing data
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Thu, 22 Sep 2016 03:49:05 +0000 (23:49 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 22 Sep 2016 18:18:13 +0000 (11:18 -0700)
commita9445d859e810cc193c1cdcb15fa684a5e9b7560
treed7a8e694d93a243a46272a4201d96dc4914cf4af
parent0b65a8dbdb38962e700ee16776a3042beb489060
verify_packfile: check pack validity before accessing data

The verify_packfile() does not explicitly open the packfile;
instead, it starts with a sha1 checksum over the whole pack,
and relies on use_pack() to open the packfile as a side
effect.

If the pack cannot be opened for whatever reason (either
because its header information is corrupted, or perhaps
because a simultaneous repack deleted it), then use_pack()
will die(), as it has no way to return an error. This is not
ideal, as verify_packfile() otherwise tries to gently return
an error (this lets programs like git-fsck go on to check
other packs).

Instead, let's check is_pack_valid() up front, and return an
error if it fails. This will open the pack as a side effect,
and then use_pack() will later rely on our cached
descriptor, and avoid calling die().

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
pack-check.c