parse-options: only insert newline in help text if needed
authorBrandon Casey <drafnel@gmail.com>
Mon, 25 Sep 2017 04:08:05 +0000 (21:08 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 25 Sep 2017 05:35:53 +0000 (14:35 +0900)
commita6304fa4c2f57b08ec0acea9f91c188f284f8374
tree99d61834e5b76b3ffa3d39f3628f0ef212213201
parent1a9bf1e176439d415b97fb8c5a556f69ea503877
parse-options: only insert newline in help text if needed

Currently, when parse_options() produces a help message it always emits
a blank line after the usage text to separate it from the options text.
If the option spec does not define any switches, or only defines hidden
switches that will not be displayed, then the help text will end up with
two trailing blank lines instead of one.  Let's defer emitting the blank
line between the usage text and the options text until it is clear that
the options section will not be empty.

Fixes t1502.5, t1502.6.

Signed-off-by: Brandon Casey <drafnel@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
parse-options.c
t/t1502-rev-parse-parseopt.sh