print_sha1_ellipsis: introduce helper
authorAnn T Ropea <bedhanger@gmx.de>
Sun, 3 Dec 2017 21:27:39 +0000 (22:27 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 4 Dec 2017 16:25:35 +0000 (08:25 -0800)
commita2cd709de314a7bfa038e14fd36f1d21077b4173
tree49da7a18df71cc8cf4f3e6d1a05e44c1b654717a
parentf61d89e1009da8025794057ca87c21e277d380fa
print_sha1_ellipsis: introduce helper

Introduce a helper print_sha1_ellipsis() that pays attention to the
GIT_PRINT_SHA1_ELLIPSIS environment variable, and prepare the tests to
unconditionally set it for the test pieces that will be broken once the code
stops showing the extra dots by default.

The removal of these dots is merely a plan at this step and has not happened
yet but soon will.

Document GIT_PRINT_SHA1_ELLIPSIS.

Signed-off-by: Ann T Ropea <bedhanger@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git.txt
cache.h
environment.c
t/t3040-subprojects-basic.sh
t/t4013-diff-various.sh
t/t9300-fast-import.sh