merge: do no-verify like commit
authorMichael J Gruber <git@grubix.eu>
Wed, 7 Aug 2019 18:57:06 +0000 (11:57 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 7 Aug 2019 19:37:33 +0000 (12:37 -0700)
commita1f3dd7eb303d924f90da30808f7702869430321
treeb394152984818ecd5c7b33f38d08fdb192be55f3
parentf78f6c7e0ca91a48a4b519cc2cf1197d16810f7a
merge: do no-verify like commit

f8b863598c ("builtin/merge: honor commit-msg hook for merges", 2017-09-07)
introduced the no-verify flag to merge for bypassing the commit-msg
hook, though in a different way from the implementation in commit.c.

Change the implementation in merge.c to be the same as in commit.c so
that both do the same in the same way. This also changes the output of
"git merge --help" to be more clear that the hook return code is
respected by default.

[js: * reworded commit message
     * squashed documentation changes from original series' patch 3/4
]

Signed-off-by: Michael J Gruber <git@grubix.eu>
Signed-off-by: Josh Steadmon <steadmon@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-merge.txt
Documentation/merge-options.txt
builtin/merge.c