mingw: enable stack smashing protector
authorJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Thu, 27 Jun 2019 09:29:02 +0000 (02:29 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 27 Jun 2019 19:53:45 +0000 (12:53 -0700)
commita1c5e906c8bab294f380151f59e552766fdf32b7
treecbb0992d4b9b6dd1b2e3c5b93dfd6e38a15e015a
parent8dca754b1e874719a732bc9ab7b0e14b21b1bc10
mingw: enable stack smashing protector

To reduce Git for Windows' attack surface, we started using the Address
Space Layout Randomization and Data Execution Prevention features in
ce6a158561f9 (mingw: enable DEP and ASLR, 2019-05-08).

To remove yet another attack vector, let's make use of gcc's stack
smashing protector that helps detect stack buffer overruns early.

Rather than using -fstack-protector, we use -fstack-protector-strong
because on Windows: The latter appears to strike a better balance
between the performance impact and the provided safety.

In a non-scientific test (time git log --grep=is -p), best of 5 timings
went from 23.009s to 22.997s, i.e. the performance impact was *well*
lost in the noise.

This fixes https://github.com/git-for-windows/git/issues/501

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
config.mak.uname