Add new @ shortcut for HEAD
authorFelipe Contreras <felipe.contreras@gmail.com>
Mon, 2 Sep 2013 06:34:30 +0000 (01:34 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 12 Sep 2013 21:39:34 +0000 (14:39 -0700)
commit9ba89f484e023827eca6ad44baf69af37dac4db3
tree412e36de2f9e033c1705bed8d21ed7aac3ad379f
parentcf99a761d3903dbaf8265f60da9eaee6a15a6fe6
Add new @ shortcut for HEAD

Typing 'HEAD' is tedious, especially when we can use '@' instead.

The reason for choosing '@' is that it follows naturally from the
ref@op syntax (e.g. HEAD@{u}), except we have no ref, and no
operation, and when we don't have those, it makes sens to assume
'HEAD'.

So now we can use 'git show @~1', and all that goody goodness.

Until now '@' was a valid name, but it conflicts with this idea, so
let's make it invalid. Probably very few people, if any, used this name.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Contreras <felipe.contreras@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-check-ref-format.txt
Documentation/revisions.txt
refs.c
sha1_name.c
t/t1508-at-combinations.sh