speed up refresh_index() by utilizing preload_index()
authorBen Peart <benpeart@microsoft.com>
Mon, 29 Oct 2018 20:41:59 +0000 (16:41 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 30 Oct 2018 02:28:39 +0000 (11:28 +0900)
commit99ce720c338ebeb37331bd98f724569837c74d0d
treece7d8197078f0ab98d9e599d2ef46a167e35dd17
parentc670b1f876521c9f7cd40184bf7ed05aad843433
speed up refresh_index() by utilizing preload_index()

Speed up refresh_index() by utilizing preload_index() to do most of the work
spread across multiple threads.  This works because most cache entries will
get marked CE_UPTODATE so that refresh_cache_ent() can bail out early when
called from within refresh_index().

On a Windows repo with ~200K files, this drops refresh times from 6.64
seconds to 2.87 seconds for a savings of 57%.

Signed-off-by: Ben Peart <benpeart@microsoft.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
cache.h
preload-index.c
read-cache.c