merge: enable progress reporting for rename detection
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Sun, 20 Feb 2011 09:53:21 +0000 (04:53 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 21 Feb 2011 18:24:08 +0000 (10:24 -0800)
commit99bfc6691d79eaffaaf170a8b6584bcfe97863dc
tree73ccfdfe22ca3affd0b7b9ab70e0c1697be1716b
parent3ac942d42ebb1fb48e70d3e5a714d06396e3e2c6
merge: enable progress reporting for rename detection

The user can enable or disable it explicitly with the new
--progress, but it defaults to checking isatty(2).

This works only with merge-recursive and subtree. In theory
we could pass a progress flag to other strategies, but none
of them support progress at this point, so let's wait until
they grow such a feature before worrying about propagating
it.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/merge-options.txt
builtin/merge.c
merge-recursive.c
merge-recursive.h