mailmap: do not downcase mailmap entries
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 15 Jul 2013 06:54:08 +0000 (02:54 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 15 Jul 2013 15:17:20 +0000 (08:17 -0700)
commit97e751be7928d17c177b2fe65fb9bacf6ee35643
tree8a9f85ca2e31e45d4abc4ed64cfdfc8b783da066
parent3aff56ddbebfdb314f123e9a076403459d6a0767
mailmap: do not downcase mailmap entries

The email addresses in the records read from the .mailmap file are
downcased very early, and then used to match against e-mail
addresses in the input.  Because we do use case insensitive version
of string list to manage these entries, there is no need to do this,
and worse yet, downcasing the rewritten/canonical e-mail read from
the .mailmap file loses information.

Stop doing that, and also make the string list used to keep multiple
names for an mailmap entry case insensitive (the code that uses the
list, lookup_prefix(), expects a case insensitive match).

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Signed-off-by: Eric Sunshine <sunshine@sunshineco.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
mailmap.c
t/t4203-mailmap.sh