merge, pull: stop advising 'commit -a' in case of conflict
authorMatthieu Moy <Matthieu.Moy@imag.fr>
Thu, 28 Aug 2014 09:46:58 +0000 (11:46 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 28 Aug 2014 17:29:53 +0000 (10:29 -0700)
commit91e70e00ac3e72eb81e10273b48d884553e7d01d
treecbabcaadbcfcd6647936d596eccedda92d95e7e1
parent6c4ab27f2378ce67940b4496365043119d7ffff2
merge, pull: stop advising 'commit -a' in case of conflict

'git commit -a' is rarely a good way to mark conflicts as resolved:
the user anyway has to go manually through the list of conflicts to
do the actual resolution, and it is usually better to use "git add"
on each files after doing the resolution.

On the other hand, using 'git commit -a' is potentially dangerous,
as it makes it very easy to mistakenly commit conflict markers
without noticing, and even worse, the user may have started a merge
while having local changes that do not overlap with it in the
working tree.

While we're there, synchronize the 'git pull' and 'git merge'
messages: the first was ending with '...  and make a commit.', but
not the latter.

Eventually, git should detect that conflicts have been resolved in
the working tree and tailor these messages further.  Not only "use
git commit -a" could be resurected, but "Fix them up in the work
tree" should be dropped when it happens.

Signed-off-by: Matthieu Moy <Matthieu.Moy@imag.fr>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
advice.c
git-pull.sh