send-pack: prefer prefixcmp over memcmp in receive_status
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Wed, 20 Feb 2013 20:00:43 +0000 (15:00 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 20 Feb 2013 21:42:21 +0000 (13:42 -0800)
commit8f9e3e498c113e987c2b8662485db5461cad1c36
tree5932cc91d04696f1986fe68b2684adc28f3fb4d6
parent030e9dd64f931c0ccfb6ad4be88775f8272f02eb
send-pack: prefer prefixcmp over memcmp in receive_status

This code predates prefixcmp, so it used memcmp along with
static sizes. Replacing these memcmps with prefixcmp makes
the code much more readable, and the lack of static sizes
will make refactoring it in future patches simpler.

Note that we used to be unnecessarily liberal in parsing the
"unpack" status line, and would accept "unpack ok\njunk". No
version of git has ever produced that, and it violates the
BNF in Documentation/technical/pack-protocol.txt. Let's take
this opportunity to tighten the check by converting the
prefix comparison into a strcmp.

While we're in the area, let's also fix a vague error
message that does not follow our usual conventions (it
writes directly to stderr and does not use the "error:"
prefix).

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
send-pack.c