help_unknown_ref(): duplicate collected refnames
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 14 May 2019 12:04:31 +0000 (08:04 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 15 May 2019 01:58:00 +0000 (10:58 +0900)
commit8ed51b066681adc88723dbe07b878904c348fdf6
tree91c8dee440a584b00827ae2a2bdd0d72635e2e45
parentaeb582a98374c094361cba1bd756dc6307432c42
help_unknown_ref(): duplicate collected refnames

When "git merge" sees an unknown refname, we iterate through the refs to
try to suggest some possible alternates. We do so with for_each_ref(),
and in the callback we add some of the refnames we get to a
string_list that is declared with NODUP, directly adding a pointer into
the refname string our callback received.

But the for_each_ref() machinery does not promise that the refname
string will remain valid, and as a result we may print garbage memory.

The code in question dates back to its inception in e56181060e (help:
add help_unknown_ref(), 2013-05-04). But back then, the refname strings
generally did remain stable, at least immediately after the
for_each_ref() call. Later, in d1cf15516f (packed_ref_iterator_begin():
iterate using `mmapped_ref_iterator`, 2017-09-25), we started
consistently re-using a separate buffer for packed refs.

The fix is simple: duplicate the strings we intend to collect. We
already call string_list_clear(), so the memory is correctly freed.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
help.c
t/t7600-merge.sh