parse_object_buffer: correct freeing the buffer
authorStefan Beller <stefanbeller@googlemail.com>
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 22:09:42 +0000 (00:09 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 18 Jul 2013 01:10:51 +0000 (18:10 -0700)
commit8e92e8f2422a5805916e5e14c6bebfd82467e044
tree1fb03d5b600b219ae20ccd258fa61d99b9240229
parent15999998fbda60552742275570947431b57108ae
parse_object_buffer: correct freeing the buffer

If we exit early in the function parse_object_buffer, we did not
write to *eaten_p. Then the calling function parse_object, which looks
like the following with respect to the eaten variable, cannot rely on a
proper value set in eaten, hence the freeing of the buffer depends
on random values in memory.

struct object *parse_object(const unsigned char *sha1)
{
int eaten;
...
obj = parse_object_buffer(sha1, type, size, buffer, &eaten);
if (!eaten)
free(buffer);
}

This change makes sure, the buffer freeing condition is deterministic.

Signed-off-by: Stefan Beller <stefanbeller@googlemail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
object.c