t1300: test mixed-case variable retrieval
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Wed, 12 Oct 2011 18:30:02 +0000 (14:30 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 12 Oct 2011 18:56:31 +0000 (11:56 -0700)
commit88d42af893ba2a5cff01506e623f3543ef78f9ed
treecd93182370b2e2e9dd4533d561b0f0646ce89412
parent5a953fc5d1df1fabb5b8ce9f3c884c424ef4f89a
t1300: test mixed-case variable retrieval

We should be able to ask for a config value both by its
canonical all-lowercase name (as git does internally), as
well as by random mixed-case (which will be canonicalized by
git-config for us).

Subsections are a tricky point, though. Since we have both

  [section "Foo"]

and

  [section.Foo]

you might want git-config to canonicalize the subsection or
not, depending on which you are expecting. But there's no
way to communicate this; git-config sees only the key, and
doesn't know which type of section name will be in the
config file.

So it must leave the subsection intact, and it is up to the
caller to provide a canonical version of the subsection if
they want to match the latter form.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t1300-repo-config.sh