pass config slots as pointers instead of offsets
authorJonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Tue, 7 Oct 2014 19:16:57 +0000 (15:16 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 14 Oct 2014 18:01:05 +0000 (11:01 -0700)
commit8852117a603c5ed5131233a80453db37c0958871
tree62d269e6d9685336fe675ddba629006bcb774da7
parent80b616d04b8f5a15b5d5587d67baf6e2e28c9f87
pass config slots as pointers instead of offsets

Many config-parsing helpers, like parse_branch_color_slot,
take the name of a config variable and an offset to the
"slot" name (e.g., "color.branch.plain" is passed along with
"13" to effectively pass "plain"). This is leftover from the
time that these functions would die() on error, and would
want the full variable name for error reporting.

These days they do not use the full variable name at all.
Passing a single pointer to the slot name is more natural,
and lets us more easily adjust the callers to use skip_prefix
to avoid manually writing offset numbers.

This is effectively a continuation of 9e1a5eb, which did the
same for parse_diff_color_slot. This patch covers all of the
remaining similar constructs.

Signed-off-by: Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/branch.c
builtin/commit.c
builtin/log.c
log-tree.c
log-tree.h