generate-cmdlist: re-implement as shell script
authorEric Sunshine <sunshine@sunshineco.com>
Sun, 23 Aug 2015 21:31:09 +0000 (17:31 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 25 Aug 2015 18:24:31 +0000 (11:24 -0700)
commit82aec45b7d9dd235b6a490d2c93600e13c36c40d
tree97eefef7beb15987c7032ba7df5f224700320c41
parent224147704a3696d396dae005c280f7a25de407c7
generate-cmdlist: re-implement as shell script

527ec39 (generate-cmdlist: parse common group commands, 2015-05-21)
replaced generate-cmdlist.sh with a more functional Perl version,
generate-cmdlist.perl. The Perl version gleans named tags from a new
"common groups" section in command-list.txt and recognizes those
tags in "command list" section entries in place of the old 'common'
tag. This allows git-help to, not only recognize, but also group
common commands.

Although the tests require Perl, 527ec39 creates an unconditional
dependence upon Perl in the build system itself, which can not be
overridden with NO_PERL. Such a dependency may be undesirable; for
instance, the 'git-lite' package in the FreeBSD ports tree is
intended as a minimal Git installation (which may, for example, be
useful on servers needing only local clone and update capability),
which, historically, has not depended upon Perl[1].

Therefore, revive generate-cmdlist.sh and extend it to recognize
"common groups" and its named tags. Retire generate-cmdlist.perl.

[1]: http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.comp.version-control.git/275905/focus=276132

Signed-off-by: Eric Sunshine <sunshine@sunshineco.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Makefile
generate-cmdlist.perl [deleted file]
generate-cmdlist.sh [new file with mode: 0755]