Supplant the "while case ... break ;; esac" idiom
authorDavid Kastrup <dak@gnu.org>
Sun, 23 Sep 2007 20:42:08 +0000 (22:42 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 23 Sep 2007 23:12:00 +0000 (16:12 -0700)
commit822f7c7349d61f6075961ce42c1bd1a85cf999e5
treeae3b0243021d42bf07da00b2d47aa4082a68e720
parentb9fc6ea9efdc988d851666d45d80076839d9c225
Supplant the "while case ... break ;; esac" idiom

A lot of shell scripts contained stuff starting with

while case "$#" in 0) break ;; esac

and similar.  I consider breaking out of the condition instead of the
body od the loop ugly, and the implied "true" value of the
non-matching case is not really obvious to humans at first glance.  It
happens not to be obvious to some BSD shells, either, but that's
because they are not POSIX-compliant.  In most cases, this has been
replaced by a straight condition using "test".  "case" has the
advantage of being faster than "test" on vintage shells where "test"
is not a builtin.  Since none of them is likely to run the git
scripts, anyway, the added readability should be worth the change.

A few loops have had their termination condition expressed
differently.

Signed-off-by: David Kastrup <dak@gnu.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
19 files changed:
contrib/examples/git-gc.sh
contrib/examples/git-tag.sh
contrib/examples/git-verify-tag.sh
git-am.sh
git-clean.sh
git-commit.sh
git-fetch.sh
git-filter-branch.sh
git-instaweb.sh
git-ls-remote.sh
git-merge.sh
git-mergetool.sh
git-pull.sh
git-quiltimport.sh
git-rebase--interactive.sh
git-rebase.sh
git-repack.sh
git-reset.sh
git-submodule.sh