mergetool: use shell variable magic instead of `awk`
authorJohannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org>
Wed, 12 Jun 2019 16:33:48 +0000 (18:33 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 12 Jun 2019 20:20:56 +0000 (13:20 -0700)
commit7e6d6f7610965906d071022615bf64f14c60c0d2
treea04175fd1059c00b5bb837413d4e46135ce915f5
parent8b014655105e27d44cf62f61dd6b24322a57048f
mergetool: use shell variable magic instead of `awk`

git-mergetool spawns an enormous amount of processes. For this reason,
the test script, t7610, is exceptionally slow, in particular, on
Windows. Most of the processes are invocations of git. There are
also some that can be replaced with shell builtins. Avoid repeated
calls of `git ls-files` and `awk`.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Sixt <j6t@kdbg.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git-mergetool.sh