hooks doc: clarify when receive-pack invokes its hooks
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 24 Nov 2017 02:10:58 +0000 (11:10 +0900)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 24 Nov 2017 02:20:29 +0000 (11:20 +0900)
commit7db2cbf4f13bc2e433828fd6dba1748551a14aff
tree2a2a1901109a9d6e66ed7580abf78c11551b46c4
parent9752ad0bb79f680bca48db7adc45338b298304b0
hooks doc: clarify when receive-pack invokes its hooks

The text meant to say that receive-pack runs these hooks, and only
because receive-pack is not a command the end users use every day
(ever), as an explanation also meantioned that it is run in response
to 'git push', which is an end-user facing command readers hopefully
know about.

This unfortunately gave an incorrect impression that 'git push'
always result in the hook to run.  If the refs push wanted to update
all already had the desired value, these hooks are not run.

Explicitly mention "... and updates reference(s)" as a precondition
to avoid this confusion.

Helped-by: Christoph Michelbach <michelbach94@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/githooks.txt