git: use COPY_ARRAY and MOVE_ARRAY in handle_alias()
authorRené Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Thu, 19 Sep 2019 20:48:30 +0000 (22:48 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 20 Sep 2019 18:11:26 +0000 (11:11 -0700)
commit7bd97d6dff3b09600465b818163a413115dad217
tree61f80410d7bcafe71c0bfc3b0dfecd77093c38e8
parent5fa0f5238b0cd46cfe7f6fa76c3f526ea98148d9
git: use COPY_ARRAY and MOVE_ARRAY in handle_alias()

Use the macro COPY_ARRAY to copy array elements and MOVE_ARRAY to do the
same for moving them backwards in an array with potential overlap.  The
result is shorter and safer, as it infers the element type automatically
and does a (very) basic type compatibility check for its first two
arguments.

These cases were missed by Coccinelle and contrib/coccinelle/array.cocci
because the type of the elements is "const char *", not "char *", and
the rules in the semantic patch cautiously insist on the sizeof operator
being used on exactly the same type to avoid generating transformations
that introduce subtle bugs into tricky code.

Signed-off-by: René Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
git.c