wrapper: avoid undefined behaviour in macOS
authorCarlo Marcelo Arenas Belón <carenas@gmail.com>
Sun, 16 Jun 2019 18:40:03 +0000 (11:40 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 19 Jun 2019 14:41:31 +0000 (07:41 -0700)
commit729a9b558b0408fdf60e39c96b04b33a333d8366
treea3343ecf30fdce34eb904aafa375b0f359a94949
parentb697d92f56511e804b8ba20ccbe7bdc85dc66810
wrapper: avoid undefined behaviour in macOS

0620b39b3b ("compat: add a mkstemps() compatibility function", 2009-05-31)
included a function based on code from libiberty which would result in
undefined behaviour in platforms where timeval's tv_usec is a 32-bit signed
type as shown by:

wrapper.c:505:31: runtime error: left shift of 594546 by 16 places cannot be represented in type '__darwin_suseconds_t' (aka 'int')

interestingly the version of this code from gcc never had this bug and the
code had a cast that would had prevented the issue (at least in 64-bit
platforms) but was misapplied.

change the cast to uint64_t so it also works in 32-bit platforms.

Signed-off-by: Carlo Marcelo Arenas Belón <carenas@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
wrapper.c