submodule-config: add helper function to get 'fetch' config from .gitmodules
authorAntonio Ospite <ao2@ao2.it>
Tue, 26 Jun 2018 10:47:06 +0000 (12:47 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 26 Jun 2018 19:56:11 +0000 (12:56 -0700)
commit71a6953d164012647fcb9682e4e705ba61b95929
treecf47a6c682cb4dc81cfc893db086530d80395294
parentad136370b2a26fd55f446722ff7bf5b383e8eca0
submodule-config: add helper function to get 'fetch' config from .gitmodules

Add a helper function to make it clearer that retrieving 'fetch'
configuration from the .gitmodules file is a special case supported
solely for backward compatibility purposes.

This change removes one direct use of 'config_from_gitmodules' in code
not strictly related to submodules, in the effort to communicate better
that .gitmodules is not to be used as a mechanism to store arbitrary
configuration in the repository that any command can retrieve.

Signed-off-by: Antonio Ospite <ao2@ao2.it>
Acked-by: Brandon Williams <bmwill@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/fetch.c
submodule-config.c
submodule-config.h