am: counteract gender bias
authorJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Fri, 8 Jul 2016 07:17:34 +0000 (09:17 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 8 Jul 2016 21:39:48 +0000 (14:39 -0700)
commit715a51bcaf4f8625e99a972326bfce3fdace3071
tree78efffec951714f40d6bfe7438117acb5f53896c
parent0b65a8dbdb38962e700ee16776a3042beb489060
am: counteract gender bias

Since 47f0b6d5 (Fall back to three-way merge when applying a patch.,
2005-10-06), i.e. for almost 11 years already, we used a male form
to describe "the other tree".

While it was unintended, this gave the erroneous impression as if
the Git developers thought of users as male, and were unaware of the
important role in software development played by female actors such
as Ada Lovelace, Grace Hopper and Margaret Hamilton. In fact, the
first professional software developers were all female.

Let's change those unfortunate references to the gender neutral
"their tree".  Doing so also makes the fallback_merge_recursive(),
which is an oddball, more in line with the other parts of the system
where we contrast what we have vs what we obtain from others by
saying "ours" vs "theirs".  This inconsistency was also unintended.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/am.c