format-patch: inform user that patch-id generation is unstable
authorStephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>
Fri, 26 Apr 2019 23:51:56 +0000 (16:51 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 8 May 2019 10:27:39 +0000 (19:27 +0900)
commit6f93d261fa8ca6a84c2e03e20558c0ddca3c05c3
tree6a79488f5f2f438ff48afc31f08821a2bee589a7
parent83232e38648b51abbcbdb56c94632b6906cc85a6
format-patch: inform user that patch-id generation is unstable

I tried out 'git format-patch --base' with a set of commits that
modifies more than one file. It turns out that the way this command is
implemented it actually uses the unstable version of patch-id instead of
the stable version that's documented. When I tried to modify the
existing test to use 'git patch-id --stable' vs. 'git patch-id
--unstable' I found that it didn't matter, the test still passed.

Let's expand on the test here so it is a little more complicated and
then use that to show that the patch-id generation is actually unstable
vs. stable. Update the documentation as well.

Cc: Xiaolong Ye <xiaolong.ye@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-format-patch.txt
t/t4014-format-patch.sh