describe: fix accidental oid/hash type-punning
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Thu, 20 Jun 2019 07:40:50 +0000 (03:40 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 20 Jun 2019 16:23:53 +0000 (09:23 -0700)
commit6d79e5ecb342586466e0321487f08f17cbccb2bb
treedaa6ac9a5e30c8d5f6a5a32433a469836891f5fe
parenta6a95cd1b46e48e5fe06bdbb0839a67ebeef4682
describe: fix accidental oid/hash type-punning

The find_commit_name() function passes an object_id.hash as the key of a
hashmap. That ends up in commit_name_neq(), which then feeds it to
oideq(). Which means we should actually be the whole "struct object_id".

It works anyway because pointers to the two are interchangeable. And
because we're going through a layer of void pointers, the compiler
doesn't notice the type mismatch.

But it's worth cleaning up (especially since once we switch away from
sha1hash() on the same line, accessing the hash member will look doubly
out of place).

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/describe.c