builtin/config: introduce `color` type specifier
authorTaylor Blau <me@ttaylorr.com>
Tue, 10 Apr 2018 00:18:31 +0000 (17:18 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 23 Apr 2018 13:52:20 +0000 (22:52 +0900)
commit63e2a0f8e9cc3d66137a72e424a8b59f1c4dbd79
treedd5cb366414d546c755e41712980a0a829e14b5b
parent6d2f9acc0f6c2df2b75ac69aee9077d7ea4eb2b5
builtin/config: introduce `color` type specifier

As of this commit, the canonical way to retreive an ANSI-compatible
color escape sequence from a configuration file is with the
`--get-color` action.

This is to allow Git to "fall back" on a default value for the color
should the given section not exist in the specified configuration(s).

With the addition of `--default`, this is no longer needed since:

  $ git config --default red --type=color core.section

will be have exactly as:

  $ git config --get-color core.section red

For consistency, let's introduce `--type=color` and encourage its use
with `--default` together over `--get-color` alone.

Signed-off-by: Taylor Blau <me@ttaylorr.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-config.txt
builtin/config.c
t/t1300-repo-config.sh