make verify-pack a bit more useful with bad packs
authorNicolas Pitre <nico@cam.org>
Thu, 29 May 2008 21:34:50 +0000 (17:34 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 2 Jun 2008 06:25:38 +0000 (23:25 -0700)
commit6241360498eb811d4bb130328b1d13241c5e14b6
treef75cb182548abd11f55d1d444efb8839618cfa51
parentd2b3691b61d516a0ad2bf700a2a5d9113ceff0b1
make verify-pack a bit more useful with bad packs

When a pack gets corrupted, its SHA1 checksum will fail.  However, this
is more useful to let the test go on in order to find the actual
problem location than only complain about the SHA1 mismatch and
bail out.

Also, it is more useful to compare the stored pack SHA1 with the one in
the index file instead of the computed SHA1 since the computed SHA1
from a corrupted pack won't match the one stored in the index either.

Finally a few code and message cleanups were thrown in as a bonus.

Signed-off-by: Nicolas Pitre <nico@cam.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
pack-check.c