checkout-index: fix negations of even numbers of -n
authorStefan Beller <stefanbeller@googlemail.com>
Sat, 3 Aug 2013 11:51:25 +0000 (13:51 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 7 Aug 2013 15:37:02 +0000 (08:37 -0700)
commit5d4d1440ba992fe27b00f8a56862543bb27561e2
tree90fe318df08eb03c6ddcb452c1d34f9af8ddf249
parent21e047dcadaffc09cfc958e9014e84bf2237bfe8
checkout-index: fix negations of even numbers of -n

The --no-create was parsed with OPT_BOOLEAN, which has a counting up
logic implemented. Since b04ba2bb (parse-options: deprecate OPT_BOOLEAN,
2011-09-27) the OPT_BOOLEAN is deprecated and is only a define:
/* Deprecated synonym */
#define OPTION_BOOLEAN OPTION_COUNTUP

However the variable not_new, which can be counted up by giving
--no-create multiple times, is used to set a bit in the struct checkout
bitfield (defined in cache.h:969, declared at builtin/checkout-index.c:19):

state.not_new = not_new;

When assigning a value other than 0 or 1 to a bit, all leading digits but
the last are ignored and only the last bit is used for setting the bit
variable.

Hence the following:
# in git.git:
$ git status
# working directory clean
rm COPYING
$ git status
# deleted:    COPYING
$ git checkout-index -a -n
$ git status
# deleted:    COPYING
# which is expected as we're telling git to not restore or create
# files, however:
$ git checkout-index -a -n -n
$ git status
# working directory clean, COPYING is restored again!
# That's the bug, we're fixing here.

By restraining the variable not_new to a value being definitely 0 or 1
by the macro OPT_BOOL the bug is fixed.

Signed-off-by: Stefan Beller <stefanbeller@googlemail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/checkout-index.c