refs.c: do not permit err == NULL
authorJonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Thu, 28 Aug 2014 23:42:37 +0000 (16:42 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 15 Oct 2014 17:47:26 +0000 (10:47 -0700)
commit5a603b046351894a3c892d5bd6948fcee1bee5ab
tree38074392c2d451c01d39eef81ad5fc26953df735
parent2ebb49ca8ac34afb0ffe00e4bceac73e8c825ef1
refs.c: do not permit err == NULL

Some functions that take a strbuf argument to append an error treat
!err as an indication that the message should be suppressed (e.g.,
ref_update_reject_duplicates).  Others write the message to stderr on
!err (e.g., repack_without_refs).  Others crash (e.g.,
ref_transaction_update).

Some of these behaviors are for historical reasons and others were
accidents.  Luckily no callers pass err == NULL any more.  Simplify
by consistently requiring the strbuf argument.

Signed-off-by: Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Ronnie Sahlberg <sahlberg@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
refs.c