git: add performance tracing for git's main() function to debug scripts
authorKarsten Blees <karsten.blees@gmail.com>
Sat, 12 Jul 2014 00:07:01 +0000 (02:07 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 14 Jul 2014 04:25:21 +0000 (21:25 -0700)
commit578da0391a7958510b960eaf1ef30d13e791554e
tree00bec6169d5a78da2857fa392706d70d1fda21ed
parent09b2c1c769a69d3ff03ee7913fa50fa05b4f5a46
git: add performance tracing for git's main() function to debug scripts

Use trace_performance to measure and print execution time and command line
arguments of the entire main() function. In constrast to the shell's 'time'
utility, which measures total time of the parent process, this logs all
involved git commands recursively. This is particularly useful to debug
performance issues of scripted commands (i.e. which git commands were
called with which parameters, and how long did they execute).

Due to git's deliberate use of exit(), the implementation uses an atexit
routine rather than just adding trace_performance_since() at the end of
main().

Usage example: > GIT_TRACE_PERFORMANCE=~/git-trace.log git stash list

Creates a log file like this:
23:57:38.638765 trace.c:405 performance: 0.000310107 s: git command: 'git' 'rev-parse' '--git-dir'
23:57:38.644387 trace.c:405 performance: 0.000261759 s: git command: 'git' 'rev-parse' '--show-toplevel'
23:57:38.646207 trace.c:405 performance: 0.000304468 s: git command: 'git' 'config' '--get-colorbool' 'color.interactive'
23:57:38.648491 trace.c:405 performance: 0.000241667 s: git command: 'git' 'config' '--get-color' 'color.interactive.help' 'red bold'
23:57:38.650465 trace.c:405 performance: 0.000243063 s: git command: 'git' 'config' '--get-color' '' 'reset'
23:57:38.654850 trace.c:405 performance: 0.025126313 s: git command: 'git' 'stash' 'list'

Signed-off-by: Karsten Blees <blees@dcon.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git.txt
git.c
trace.c
trace.h