cleanup: fix possible overflow errors in binary search, part 2
authorRené Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Thu, 13 Jun 2019 17:51:56 +0000 (19:51 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 13 Jun 2019 18:28:53 +0000 (11:28 -0700)
commit568a05c5ecb8e3a01fcb90d0f81857f49ef2add8
treee85ff4b06b04fd9427a417c7c7b41ad73c0bd6dc
parentb697d92f56511e804b8ba20ccbe7bdc85dc66810
cleanup: fix possible overflow errors in binary search, part 2

Calculating the sum of two array indexes to find the midpoint between
them can overflow, i.e. code like this is unsafe for big arrays:

mid = (first + last) >> 1;

Make sure the intermediate value stays within the boundaries instead,
like this:

mid = first + ((last - first) >> 1);

The loop condition of the binary search makes sure that 'last' is
always greater than 'first', so this is safe as long as 'first' is
not negative.  And that can be verified easily using the pre-context
of each change, except for name-hash.c, so add an assertion to that
effect there.

The unsafe calculations were found with:

git grep '(.*+.*) *>> *1'

This is a continuation of 19716b21a4 (cleanup: fix possible overflow
errors in binary search, 2017-10-08).

Signed-off-by: Rene Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/ls-files.c
diffcore-rename.c
dir.c
name-hash.c
read-cache.c
sh-i18n--envsubst.c