doc: show usage of branch description
authorPhilip Oakley <philipoakley@iee.org>
Mon, 14 Sep 2015 14:10:53 +0000 (15:10 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 14 Sep 2015 19:50:33 +0000 (12:50 -0700)
commit561d2b7934caaa5e0917979da82ca59b17a4e5f9
tree73f45ac56de72ced86792d271b82c6d218d32f54
parentecad27cf98c391d5cfdc26ce0e442e02347baad0
doc: show usage of branch description

The branch description will be included in 'git format-patch
--cover-letter' and in 'git pull-request' emails. It can also
be used in the automatic merge message. Tell the reader.

While here, clarify that the description may be a multi-line
explanation of the purpose of the branch's patch series.

Signed-off-by: Philip Oakley <philipoakley@iee.org>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-branch.txt
Documentation/git-format-patch.txt
Documentation/git-merge.txt
Documentation/git-request-pull.txt