connect: tighten check for unexpected early hang up
authorJonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Fri, 9 Sep 2016 17:36:29 +0000 (10:36 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 9 Sep 2016 20:37:53 +0000 (13:37 -0700)
commit55e4f9365a405f5bffdc6b9babfb482b66d48809
treecb9f319a7fce51ff510d9e9b8d97ba915734929c
parent63b747ce1a4074a42b8f7fb5d6266489983ec38c
connect: tighten check for unexpected early hang up

A server hanging up immediately to mark access being denied does not
send any .have refs, shallow lines, or anything else before hanging
up.  If the server has sent anything, then the hangup is unexpected.

That is, if the server hangs up after a shallow line but before sending
any refs, then git should tell me so:

fatal: The remote end hung up upon initial contact

instead of suggesting an access control problem:

fatal: Could not read from remote repository.
Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.

Noticed while examining this code.  This case isn't likely to come up
in practice but tightening the check makes the code easier to read and
manipulate.

Signed-off-by: Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
connect.c