diff: disable compaction heuristic for now
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 10 Jun 2016 17:58:55 +0000 (10:58 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 10 Jun 2016 20:45:23 +0000 (13:45 -0700)
commit5580b271af518bae30148edfd42cc8459d8da384
tree242a1fdf0b8cd5e259b38bab96f8866564188abd
parent77085a616b0fe0eaba99dfe27247ae733f1570e9
diff: disable compaction heuristic for now

http://lkml.kernel.org/g/20160610075043.GA13411@sigill.intra.peff.net
reports that a change to add a new "function" with common ending
with the existing one at the end of the file is shown like this:

    def foo
      do_foo_stuff()

   +  common_ending()
   +end
   +
   +def bar
   +  do_bar_stuff()
   +
      common_ending()
    end

when the new heuristic is in use.  In reality, the change is to add
the blank line before "def bar" and everything below, which is what
the code without the new heuristic shows.

Disable the heuristics by default, and resurrect the documentation
for the option and the configuration variables, while clearly
marking the feature as still experimental.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/diff-config.txt
Documentation/diff-options.txt
diff.c