push.default: Rename 'tracking' to 'upstream'
authorJohan Herland <johan@herland.net>
Wed, 16 Feb 2011 00:54:24 +0000 (01:54 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 16 Feb 2011 18:21:52 +0000 (10:21 -0800)
commit53c403116a947c538132fc721f83196036f7a299
treee2c89a7ebdc7f121676c49475f78da442bc0dc1b
parent7ed863a85a6ce2c4ac4476848310b8f917ab41f9
push.default: Rename 'tracking' to 'upstream'

Users are sometimes confused with two different types of "tracking" behavior
in Git: "remote-tracking" branches (e.g. refs/remotes/*/*) versus the
merge/rebase relationship between a local branch and its @{upstream}
(controlled by branch.foo.remote and branch.foo.merge config settings).

When the push.default is set to 'tracking', it specifies that a branch should
be pushed to its @{upstream} branch. In other words, setting push.default to
'tracking' applies only to the latter of the above two types of "tracking"
behavior.

In order to make this more understandable to the user, we rename the
push.default == 'tracking' option to push.default == 'upstream'.

push.default == 'tracking' is left as a deprecated synonym for 'upstream'.

Signed-off-by: Johan Herland <johan@herland.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/config.txt
builtin/push.c
cache.h
config.c