mv: be quiet about overwriting
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Mon, 12 Dec 2011 21:54:42 +0000 (16:54 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 12 Dec 2011 23:43:45 +0000 (15:43 -0800)
commit534376ca04d524b99d69a30bdcf5e70ac8062aee
tree1d6427be4514d96222f7e6644369e3bdd18a112e
parentcd40b05d13676a41fc68807c351d0de07eb4c270
mv: be quiet about overwriting

When a user asks us to force a mv and overwrite the
destination, we print a warning. However, since a typical
use would be:

  $ git mv one two
  fatal: destination exists, source=one, destination=two
  $ git mv -f one two
  warning: overwriting 'two'

this warning is just noise. We already know we're
overwriting; that's why we gave -f!

This patch silences the warning unless "--verbose" is given.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/mv.c