pack-objects: split implications of --all-progress from progress activation
authorNicolas Pitre <nico@fluxnic.net>
Mon, 23 Nov 2009 17:43:50 +0000 (12:43 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 24 Nov 2009 05:33:09 +0000 (21:33 -0800)
commit4f366275189c06ec26c01ee5ace2f3831b2aa46a
tree7e31f673ec8a7a490628aa19860e9a4d51b1e30c
parent0b624b4ceee63ce45135cdbb80f2807c20b48646
pack-objects: split implications of --all-progress from progress activation

Currently the --all-progress flag is used to use force progress display
during the writing object phase even if output goes to stdout which is
primarily the case during a push operation.  This has the unfortunate
side effect of forcing progress display even if stderr is not a
terminal.

Let's introduce the --all-progress-implied argument which has the same
intent except for actually forcing the activation of any progress
display.  With this, progress display will be automatically inhibited
whenever stderr is not a terminal, or full progress display will be
included otherwise.  This should let people use 'git push' within a cron
job without filling their logs with useless percentage displays.

Signed-off-by: Nicolas Pitre <nico@fluxnic.net>
Tested-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-pack-objects.txt
builtin-pack-objects.c
builtin-send-pack.c
bundle.c