filter-branch: deal with object name vs. pathname ambiguity in tree-filter
authorSZEDER Gábor <szeder@ira.uka.de>
Mon, 23 Nov 2015 12:23:16 +0000 (13:23 +0100)
committerJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 24 Nov 2015 23:37:50 +0000 (18:37 -0500)
commit4d2a3646d1f0285ce072cdfe34a7df64710f9357
treea8fca2cc3da5b8d85586898646a050d680ddcaa5
parent5cb2e162d21fa45a63f186b31970e2e9c9b10ba9
filter-branch: deal with object name vs. pathname ambiguity in tree-filter

'git filter-branch' fails complaining about an ambiguous argument, if
a tree-filter renames a path and the new pathname happens to match an
existing object name.

After the tree-filter has been applied, 'git filter-branch' looks for
changed paths by running:

  git diff-index -r --name-only --ignore-submodules $commit

which then, because of the lack of disambiguating double-dash, can't
decide whether to treat '$commit' as revision or path and errors out.

Add that disambiguating double-dash after 'git diff-index's revision
argument to make sure that '$commit' is interpreted as a revision.

Signed-off-by: SZEDER Gábor <szeder@ira.uka.de>
Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
git-filter-branch.sh
t/t7003-filter-branch.sh