fetch/pull doc: untangle meaning of bare <ref>
authorThomas Rast <trast@inf.ethz.ch>
Sat, 11 May 2013 16:14:25 +0000 (18:14 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 12 May 2013 22:23:47 +0000 (15:23 -0700)
commit4ab90e7a5c46ce929ae8b3b7bbb5b276f2f60e0d
tree0eb153d6ea7732416a7915fdc1e685f5d542e00f
parent51f8c814d5603a917a91a47019875bbe707675bb
fetch/pull doc: untangle meaning of bare <ref>

The documentation erroneously used the same wording for both fetch and
pull, stating that something will be merged even in git-fetch(1).

In addition, saying that "<ref> is equivalent to <ref>:" doesn't
really help anyone who still needs to read manpages.  Clarify what is
actually going on.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Rast <trast@inf.ethz.ch>
Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/pull-fetch-param.txt