pathspec: stop --*-pathspecs impact on internal parse_pathspec() uses
authorNguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
Sat, 26 Oct 2013 02:09:20 +0000 (09:09 +0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 28 Oct 2013 16:57:36 +0000 (09:57 -0700)
commit4a2d5ae262a6d372d0951da9cee3c7ad2a8dbca6
tree39fdf613b7433228f10a0ac613b3cfd9e14a760b
parent3d092bfc6f2d9a998967979f926c661e9762601c
pathspec: stop --*-pathspecs impact on internal parse_pathspec() uses

Normally parse_pathspec() is used on command line arguments where it
can do fancy thing like parsing magic on each argument or adding magic
for all pathspecs based on --*-pathspecs options.

There's another use of parse_pathspec(), where pathspec is needed, but
the input is known to be pure paths. In this case we usually don't
want --*-pathspecs to interfere. And we definitely do not want to
parse magic in these paths, regardless of --literal-pathspecs.

Add new flag PATHSPEC_LITERAL_PATH for this purpose. When it's set,
--*-pathspecs are ignored, no magic is parsed. And if the caller
allows PATHSPEC_LITERAL (i.e. the next calls can take literal magic),
then PATHSPEC_LITERAL will be set.

This fixes cases where git chokes when GIT_*_PATHSPECS are set because
parse_pathspec() indicates it won't take any magic. But
GIT_*_PATHSPECS add them anyway. These are

   export GIT_LITERAL_PATHSPECS=1
   git blame -- something
   git log --follow something
   git log --merge

"git ls-files --with-tree=path" (aka parse_pathspec() in
overlay_tree_on_cache()) is safe because the input is empty, and
producing one pathspec due to PATHSPEC_PREFER_CWD does not take any
magic into account.

Signed-off-by: Nguyễn Thái Ngọc Duy <pclouds@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/blame.c
pathspec.c
pathspec.h
revision.c
t/t6130-pathspec-noglob.sh
tree-diff.c