fsck: avoid looking at NULL blob->object
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Mon, 11 Jun 2018 08:35:45 +0000 (04:35 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 11 Jun 2018 17:56:06 +0000 (10:56 -0700)
commit47cc91310a81ca606e6bebcccf168bc1cb297d8e
treed5430d3ac993aae8378490c1751ac92df425c834
parent431acd2de89ad5ec0a3e6ae6141e699c4a824ae1
fsck: avoid looking at NULL blob->object

Commit 159e7b080b (fsck: detect gitmodules files,
2018-05-02) taught fsck to look at the content of
.gitmodules files. If the object turns out not to be a blob
at all, we just complain and punt on checking the content.
And since this was such an obvious and trivial code path, I
didn't even bother to add a test.

Except it _does_ do one non-trivial thing, which is call the
report() function, which wants us to pass a pointer to a
"struct object". Which we don't have (we have only a "struct
object_id"). So we erroneously pass a NULL object to
report(), which gets dereferenced and causes a segfault.

It seems like we could refactor report() to just take the
object_id itself. But we pass the object pointer along to
a callback function, and indeed this ends up in
builtin/fsck.c's objreport() which does want to look at
other parts of the object (like the type).

So instead, let's just use lookup_unknown_object() to get
the real "struct object", and pass that.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
fsck.c
t/t7415-submodule-names.sh