git-rm doc: Describe how to sync index & work tree
authorBjörn Gustavsson <bgustavsson@gmail.com>
Mon, 7 Dec 2009 18:35:42 +0000 (19:35 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 7 Jan 2010 23:37:33 +0000 (15:37 -0800)
commit47b7012024fcd5a24d2c294542f1de951dbde6e8
treea8fdb927e56dd17189633b45b01ead817762534b
parent441947f6d7533e7567f8ad02fafbf36c22a5ddf9
git-rm doc: Describe how to sync index & work tree

Newcomers to git that want to remove from the index only the
files that have disappeared from the working tree will probably
look for a way to do that in the documentation for 'git rm'.

Therefore, describe how that can be done (even though it involves
other commands than 'git rm'). Based on a suggestion by Junio,
but re-arranged and rewritten to better fit into the style of
command reference.

While at it, change a single occurrence of "work tree" to "working
tree" for consistency.

Signed-off-by: Björn Gustavsson <bgustavsson@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-rm.txt