pack-objects: move read mutex to packing_data struct
authorPatrick Hogg <phogg@novamoon.net>
Fri, 25 Jan 2019 00:22:03 +0000 (19:22 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 28 Jan 2019 19:22:06 +0000 (11:22 -0800)
commit459307b139c9a859ca0b6ca5276cf9be3d2b8e3e
tree8ca32b5889cf2278a5269a73fd3521f2869747af
parent0d0ac3826a3bbb9247e39e12623bbcfdd722f24c
pack-objects: move read mutex to packing_data struct

ac77d0c37 ("pack-objects: shrink size field in struct object_entry",
2018-04-14) added an extra usage of read_lock/read_unlock in the newly
introduced oe_get_size_slow for thread safety in parallel calls to
try_delta(). Unfortunately oe_get_size_slow is also used in serial
code, some of which is called before the first invocation of
ll_find_deltas. As such the read mutex is not guaranteed to be
initialized.

Resolve this by moving the read mutex to packing_data and initializing
it in prepare_packing_data which is initialized in cmd_pack_objects.

Signed-off-by: Patrick Hogg <phogg@novamoon.net>
Reviewed-by: Duy Nguyen <pclouds@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/pack-objects.c
pack-objects.c
pack-objects.h