commit_tree: take a pointer/len pair rather than a const strbuf
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 10 Jun 2014 21:36:52 +0000 (17:36 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 12 Jun 2014 17:29:41 +0000 (10:29 -0700)
commit3ffefb54c0515308ceafb6ba071567d9fd379498
treebc4051d445ad039b8e1df96c08c7641d711de22c
parentbce14aa132e0064d9a9b1c7ad98e71e22c6e0272
commit_tree: take a pointer/len pair rather than a const strbuf

While strbufs are pretty common throughout our code, it is
more flexible for functions to take a pointer/len pair than
a strbuf. It's easy to turn a strbuf into such a pair (by
dereferencing its members), but less easy to go the other
way (you can strbuf_attach, but that has implications about
memory ownership).

This patch teaches commit_tree (and its associated callers
and sub-functions) to take such a pair for the commit
message rather than a strbuf.  This makes passing the buffer
around slightly more verbose, but means we can get rid of
some dangerous strbuf_attach calls in the next patch.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/commit-tree.c
builtin/commit.c
builtin/merge.c
commit.c
commit.h
notes-cache.c
notes-merge.c
notes-utils.c
notes-utils.h