show-ref: make --head always show the HEAD ref
authorDoug Bell <madcityzen@gmail.com>
Wed, 17 Jul 2013 00:05:14 +0000 (19:05 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 18 Jul 2013 00:52:28 +0000 (17:52 -0700)
commit3f3d0cea61aba6ac2fef16736ef55e04bb735e02
treeef25eaf931caa88319393d35aed9b088de977e0d
parent239222f587ed06f96d90dd71c66d80a2b1e3dc9f
show-ref: make --head always show the HEAD ref

The docs seem to say that doing

git show-ref --head --tags

would show both the HEAD ref and all the tag refs. However, doing
both --head and either of --tags or --heads would filter out the HEAD
ref.

Also update the documentation to describe the new behavior and add
tests for the show-ref command.

[jc: Doug did proofread the tests, but it was done by me and bugs in
it are mine].

Signed-off-by: Doug Bell <madcityzen@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-show-ref.txt
builtin/show-ref.c
t/t1403-show-ref.sh [new file with mode: 0755]