mailinfo: support format=flowed
authorRené Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Sat, 25 Aug 2018 21:50:32 +0000 (23:50 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 29 Aug 2018 20:05:35 +0000 (13:05 -0700)
commit3aa4d81f88d2f09173e65eebe35a385b2a064c87
tree2320c740c2b723593d1d871adda8a7b2f3cd75f3
parent53f9a3e157dbbc901a02ac2c73346d375e24978c
mailinfo: support format=flowed

Add best-effort support for patches sent using format=flowed (RFC 3676).
Remove leading spaces ("unstuff"), remove soft line breaks (indicated
by space + newline), but leave the signature separator (dash dash space
newline) alone.

Warn in git am when encountering a format=flowed patch, because any
trailing spaces would most probably be lost, as the sending MUA is
encouraged to remove them when preparing the email.

Provide a test patch formatted by Mozilla Thunderbird 60 using its
default configuration.  It reuses the contents of the file mailinfo.c
before and after this patch.

Signed-off-by: Rene Scharfe <l.s.r@web.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/am.c
mailinfo.c
mailinfo.h
t/t4256-am-format-flowed.sh [new file with mode: 0755]
t/t4256/1/mailinfo.c [new file with mode: 0644]
t/t4256/1/mailinfo.c.orig [new file with mode: 0644]
t/t4256/1/patch [new file with mode: 0644]