fsck: return non-zero status on missing ref tips
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Fri, 12 Sep 2014 03:38:30 +0000 (23:38 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 12 Sep 2014 17:45:49 +0000 (10:45 -0700)
commit30d1038d1bd538bf2f8abfb5f5dccf80327a26c9
treebcac4b82fce1c7ba24cf71bea861e98c110ab41c
parent2e770fe47ef9c0b20bc687e37f3eb50f1bf919d0
fsck: return non-zero status on missing ref tips

Fsck tries hard to detect missing objects, and will complain
(and exit non-zero) about any inter-object links that are
missing. However, it will not exit non-zero for any missing
ref tips, meaning that a severely broken repository may
still pass "git fsck && echo ok".

The problem is that we use for_each_ref to iterate over the
ref tips, which hides broken tips. It does at least print an
error from the refs.c code, but fsck does not ever see the
ref and cannot note the problem in its exit code. We can solve
this by using for_each_rawref and noting the error ourselves.

In addition to adding tests for this case, we add tests for
all types of missing-object links (all of which worked, but
which we were not testing).

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/fsck.c
t/t1450-fsck.sh