fast-export: do not load blob objects twice
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Sun, 17 Mar 2013 08:38:57 +0000 (04:38 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Sun, 17 Mar 2013 22:28:15 +0000 (15:28 -0700)
commit30b939c33ad5b8a9dfbe3fe5aafc36d89c40409f
tree9d9d298c40018d7d346cd88bee5b54a4943a7199
parentf9b54e2630f4c839fbc4195693d66e790b09371b
fast-export: do not load blob objects twice

When fast-export wants to export a blob object, it first
calls parse_object to get a "struct object" and check
whether we have already shown the object.  If we haven't
shown it, we then use read_sha1_file to pull it from disk
and write it out.

That means we load each blob from disk twice: once for
parse_object to find its type and check its sha1, and a
second time when we actually output it. We can drop this to
a single load by using lookup_object to check the SHOWN
flag, and then checking the signature on and outputting a
single buffer.

This provides modest speedups on git.git (best-of-five, "git
fast-export HEAD >/dev/null"):

  [before]                [after]
  real    0m14.347s       real    0m13.780s
  user    0m14.084s       user    0m13.620s
  sys     0m0.208s        sys     0m0.100s

and somewhat more on more blob-heavy repos (this is a
repository full of media files):

  [before]                [after]
  real    0m52.236s       real    0m44.451s
  user    0m50.568s       user    0m43.000s
  sys     0m1.536s        sys     0m1.284s

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/fast-export.c